Mint Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

I’ve never been a big fan of mint. Why anyone would want to eat a dessert the flavor of toothpaste was beyond me. As a flavor, I’d give a pass to mint in tea form, but really only the spearmint kind, not the peppermint. The worst, though, would always be any combination of chocolate and mint. I’d stare resentfully at Thin Mints being passed around amongst classmates, thinking, “Why didn’t you buy the Samoas?” I’d peer over my chocolate fudge brownie ice cream cone with contempt at the sight of friends licking their mint chocolate chips. I’ve never enjoyed an Andes mint cookie. And the concept of a “grasshopper” anything (brownies, cupcakes, and forbid, even mochas) makes me about ready to give up on the world.

While grappling with some serious body image issues, I happily agreed to join a neighbor in baking some chocolate mint cookies. My logic was that I’d have fun baking and could share them with mint-loving friends and family, but would be able to spare my own waistline because mint meant no temptation.

Turned out my calculations were all wrong. These cookies were rich, gooey chocolate crinkle cookies, one of my biggest weakness. And the mint, smeared across the top and melting into the cracks, was delicate rather than overpowering. I had split off a little piece just to save face in front of my neighbor (it’s pretty weird not to eat what you bake), but it was so tasty that I popped the whole thing in my mouth. And another. And another.

I’m still not a mint fan, and you certainly won’t see me rushing to make another mint dessert anytime soon. Even so, I’m sure this won’t be my last encounter with these cookies.

Mint Chocolate Crinkle Cookies
Recipe from Pixelated Crumb
Yields 36 cookies*

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
6 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1 large egg
36 pieces Andes chocolate mints, unwrapped

Instructions
1. Adjust over racks to upper-middle and lower-middle positions and heat over to 350 degrees. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

2. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Melt butter and brown sugar in medium saucepan over low heat. Add butter and brown sugar in medium saucepan over low heat. Add bittersweet chocolate, cover pan with lid, and let stand off heat until chocolate melts, about 4 minutes. Stir until smooth, transfer chocolate to bowl of electric mixer, and let cool for about 10 minutes.

3. With electric mixer on medium speed, beat egg into cooled chocolate mixture until thoroughly combined. Reduce speed to low and mix in flour mixture until just combined, about 1 minute. Cover dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate until firm, about 1 hour.

4. Roll 2 teaspoons dough into 1-inch balls an place 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake until cookies are just set, 10-12 minutes, rotating and switching baking sheets halfway through the baking time (if you are baking them at the same time). Remove from over, top each hot cookie with 1 mint, and allow chocolate to soften, about 1 minute.** Using knife, spread softened mint mover top of cookie and transfer to rack to cool completely, about 30 minutes. (Cookies can be store in airtight container at room temperature for up to 1 week.)

Notes
* This recipe says the yield is 3 dozen, but our batch was a startling 6 dozen (admittedly small) cookies.

** The recipe calls for putting the mint on after baking the cookies, but I found that the heat from the cookies isn’t hot enough to melt the mints, and trying to forcibly spread them crushes the chocolate cookie underneath. I’d recommend either microwaving a bunch of mints in a bowl and then spreading the melted mixture on the cookies, or placing the mints on the cookies while they are still baking in the over.

*** Just for fun, we made a couple cookies with peanut butter cups on top instead of mints. Not only did the cups melt and spread much better, but they were arguably the tastier match for the chocolate cookie.

2 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Leave a Reply

