Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Peanut butter is probably my second favorite food after chocolate. My last year of college, I ate at least one spoonful a day. One of my friends told me that if I kept it up, I would become allergic to peanut butter and would never be able to eat it again–a fate worse than death, I thought. Despite the dubious science behind his claim, I switched over to almond butter for a while, but it wasn’t the same. Then I tried making my own pecan butter, which was incredible, but also an incredible hassle. Even Nutella (oh, Nutella) couldn’t hold a candle to a pure no-sugar, no-salt, no-molasses peanut butter.

The peanut butter cookie is a baking staple whether you have a peanut butter addiction or not. Do you ever hear of people going ga-ga over walnut butter cookies? No. And for good reason. Find me a nut butter cookie tastier than the peanut kind and I’ll be shocked. Until then, I’ll keep eating this flourless peanut butter cookie, which is soft with a little grainy crunch. The first time I made them, I left them in the oven too long and ended up with blackened cookies. And you know what? They were still good. That’s the power of peanut butter.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies
Recipe from AllRecipes.Com
Yields 18 cookies

Ingredients
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch salt

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cookie sheets.

2. In a medium bowl, stir peanut butter and sugar together until smooth. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the baking soda, salt, and vanilla. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and place them 2 inches apart onto the prepared cookie sheets. Press a criss-cross pattern into the top of each cookie using a fork.

3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated over. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

