Very Blueberry Low-Fat Muffins

For a very long time, if a muffin didn’t have chocolate in it, then I considered it a waste of my time. While it was hard to go wrong with a muffin top no matter the ingredients, the puffy little cakes struck me as uninspired, pedestrian. If I was going to a cafe for breakfast, I was going to go big: chocolate croissant, brownie, cinnamon roll, not some lumpy, fruity, frequently stale ball of dough.

I can’t pinpoint when exactly the tides changed. I know that when I was trying to eat a little healthier, I went from one extreme to the other, switching out my chocolate chip cappuccino muffins for raisin bran. For a while I force-fed myself the things, but over time there was a shift in me. Now I want my muffins stuffed full of berries, be they raspberries or strawberries or cranberries or, best of all, blueberries.

This recipe makes fluffy, light, and not-too-sweet muffins that go well with a creamy latte or a hot cup of chai. Not only are they low in fat, but they’re low in calories, too (approximately), meaning you could easily eat two or three in a sitting without it being a diet buster. Calories aside, I won’t extol the health virtues of this muffin, since you’d have to be living under a nutritional rock to be unaware of all the benefits of blueberries. The most important thing, after all, is the flavor. (In the end, a food can be the healthiest thing in the world and not be worth eating because of a foul taste. I’m looking at you, natto.) Even my younger sister, who is an extraordinarily picky eater, was happy to get her nosh on with these muffins. If you like a subtle sweetness and a burst of fruit flavor, these muffins are more than worth a shot.



Very Blueberry Low-Fat Muffins
Recipe from America’s Test Kitchen
Yields 12 muffins

Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour plus 1 additional tablespoon
2 teaspoons baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon table salt
2 large eggs
¾ cup packed light brown sugar
4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
¾ cup nonfat buttermilk
1 teaspoon grated lemon zest
2 teaspoons juice from 1 lemon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup frozen blueberries

Instructions
1. For the muffins: Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 375 degrees. Spray 12-cup muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray. Whisk 2 cups flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together in large bowl.

2. Whisk eggs and brown sugar together in medium bowl until thoroughly combined. Gradually whisk in melted butter, then buttermilk, lemon zest, lemon juice, and vanilla until well blended. Fold into dry mixture with rubber spatula (a few streaks of flour should remain). Remove blueberries from freezer and toss with remaining tablespoon flour in small bowl. Gently fold blueberries into batter, being careful not to break berries.

3. Distribute batter in muffin tin and bake until light golden brown and toothpick or skewer inserted into center of muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes, rotating pan halfway through baking.

Leave a Reply

