World’s Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

 

I just recently decided to quit my job. I didn’t come to this conclusion easily; it was only after some soul-searching that I realized I had gotten all that I could out of my employment, and it was time to move on. I wanted to leave on a sweet note, however, and couldn’t think of anything sweeter than my number one go-to cookie recipe. I’m not good at saying goodbye, so I let the baking do the talking for me, and gifted my bosses with farewell cookies.

These oatmeal cookies have been my favorite cookie recipe since middle school, and that’s saying something, as I’ve tried a lot of cookie recipes since then. They are the best with chocolate chips, but it’s no loss to make them with raisins either, if that’s your thing. Cookie preferences are highly personal, but these match my cookie ideal to a T. They are soft and chewy in the middle, with a nice crunch along their golden outside. These aren’t your puffy, cake-like cookies; they are lean and gooey and meant to be shoveled in your mouth one after the other.

A little secret? These cookies are even better frozen than they are straight out of the oven. Everyone in my family prefers to eat them pulled out of a ziplock baggie in the freezer.

So needless to say, these bad boys are dangerous. One is never enough. I’ve watched many a friend fall prey to these guys. Bake at your own risk.

World’s Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookies
Recipe from William Sonoma’s Kids Cooking
Yields 24 medium-sized cookies

Ingredients
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2  cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg
1 cup flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2  teaspoon baking powder
1/2  teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
1 1/4 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Instructions
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Put butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, vanilla and egg in a large mixing bowl. With electric mixer, beat under mixture is smooth and well blended. Add flour, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Beat until ingredients are well combined. Add oats and raisins or chocolate chips and mix with a wooden spoon until just combined.

3. Form dough into balls and place on cookie sheet. Bake about 10 minutes, until cookies are light golden brown but still gooey-looking in the middle.

2 thoughts on “World’s Best Oatmeal Raisin Cookie

Leave a Reply

