Balsamic Chocolate Truffles

As much as I try to keep a smile on my face, it just isn’t realistic to be happy all the time. Some days are sad days, and there’s virtually nothing you can do beyond hope for a brighter tomorrow. That’s not to say that you can’t ease your pain a little bit, though. When I was in a dark mood last week, there was only one thing I could think of to comfort myself: chocolate.

These truffles are no frills, but desperate times call for desperate measures. The chocolate taste is so intense that one truffle is more than enough — even in my sourpuss mood, I was totally satisfied with one bite. (Not that there’d be anything wrong with eating a bunch at once. I certainly couldn’t fault someone for enjoying their chocolate.) While the recipe calls for balsamic vinegar, it doesn’t add any bitterness or tartness, but only serves to make the chocolate flavor deeper.

Truth be told, these truffles didn’t clear away my depression instantaneously, but then again, nothing has that power. They did, however, make my misery a little more bearable. I look forward to making them again when I’m in a much more buoyant mood — if they tasted delicious when I’m feeling bad, I can only imagine how yum they are when I’m feeling good.

Balsamic Chocolate Truffles
From Everyday Italian
Yields 36 truffles

Ingredients
8 1/2 ounces dark chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup cream
2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup chopped nuts, optional

Instructions
1. Melt the chocolate and cream in a double boiler over hot but not simmering water. Placed melted chocolate in a small bowl. Stir in the balsamic vinegar. Cool the chocolate in the refrigerator for one hour. Remove from the refrigerator and let sit at room temperature for two hours, until firm but moldable.

2. Use a teaspoon to scoop out chocolate. Use your fingertips to shape into balls about the size of a cherry. Set the chocolate balls on a parchment-lined tray.

3. Place the cocoa powder in a small shallow dish. Place six truffles at a time in the cocoa powder and roll the truffles around to coat, returning the coated truffles to the baking sheet. Continue with the remaining truffles. Alternately, roll the truffles in chopped nuts and place on the baking sheet. Put the finished truffles in a serving dish or airtight package. Truffles will remain fresh for up to three days.

2 thoughts on “Balsamic Chocolate Truffles

Leave a Reply

