Lemon Bars


First of all, you’ll have to pardon the bad photography of these scrumptious lemon bars — in my hurry to get them into my mouth, I didn’t much bother with taking a nice photo or two. Trust me when I say that these have the potential to look much more beautiful than they do.

Full disclosure: if I have to choose between a brownie or a lemon bar, I’m going to pick the brownie every time. But it’s summer, and today something heavy and chocolatey just didn’t sound right. While taking my dog outside this morning, I noticed our Meyer lemon tree had two lemons left. I knew instantly what baking I wanted to do.

This recipe is really easy; I barely glanced at the recipe as I threw it all together, because the steps are really that simple. The end result is much more than the sum of its parts: for something seemingly so basic, the flavor is robust, sweet, and only a little bit tart. Not to brag, but both my father and the guy I’m dating (okay, admittedly not the most objective audience) said they were the best lemon bars they’d ever eaten. Even the brownie lover in me has to admit: this was just the right dessert for such a hot summer day.

Lemon Bars
Recipe from With Sprinkles on Top
Yields 10 bars

Ingredients
1 cup flour plus 2 tablespoons flour
1/4 cup powdered sugar plus 1/2 teaspoon powdered sugar
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
2 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Instructions
1. Preheat the oven at 350 degrees.
2. Sift together the first cup of flour and the 1/4 cup of powdered sugar. Cream the butter and slowly blend in the flour-sugar mixture. Flatten into a 9×9 inch pan and bake for 15 minutes.
3. Beat the eggs. Add the granulated sugar and salt. Beat until light and lemon-colored.
4. Mix together the lemon juice and remaining flour and powdered sugar. Fold into the egg mixture. Pour over crust and bake for 20-25 minutes.
5. Sprinkle with powdered sugar while still hot. Cool and cut into bars.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Bars

    • Great minds indeed! There’s no better time than summer for some tangy lemon goodness. Your lemon tart sounds delish — after the success of these lemon bars, I may need to move up in scale and try your recipe!

Leave a Reply

